Dear special snowflakes, what’s so wrong about being disabled?

After my ADD diagnose,  I decided I’d look for people who were facing the same stuff in WordPress Blogs. Well, that was fun. I stumbled upon the same two types of posts over and over again:

  1. I have ADD/ADHD. My life is so f***in’ hard and I’m so worthy of comprehension and everyone should totally adapt to me!
  2. I have ADD/ADHA! I’m not disabled! I do not have a deficit in anything! My thought process is f***in’ special and you either should worship me if you’re normal (ptui!) or I’m going to show you why you’re better than everyone else for having ADD!

This was like a rage trip to me, because well… I had just found out why some things seemed to be so hard for me, and finally I knew what I was up against! I knew what and where to look for the tools to make my life easier! Sure, people around me are entertained by my gripping way of telling stories in a detailed zig-zag fashion to the point where they sometimes don’t remember if they saw it or if I told them about it”. BUT!

Most people aren’t telling you we usually have it rought at work. Damn it, I have it rough at work because I can’t really focus. That doesn’t make me better than others, that makes me a person in a percarious work-situation. Worse: a person who is easily upset and anxious from noticing how bad the situation is.

I’m not bothered by the word normal because normal *drumroll* is the norm We live in a society that, for the most part, actually makes room for the abnormal. I don’t feel at liberty to tell at work that I have ADD, but I told my friends about it and they’re part of *drumroll* society. Two of actually them told me to my face, they don’t believe in my “disability” (seriously?) but they’re so happy that the pills I’m taking are having such a positive placebo effect on me (SERIOUSLY?!) and guess what: we’re all still friends.

Now, I see others insisting that “attention deficit disorder” is an awful way to describe it. We’re neither disabled nor deficient. Guys: normal people have the use of their legs. A few don’t. It’s a disability. Normal people have brains capable of making enough dopamin and serotonin. Some of us don’t. That’s a disability too, ableit less visible.

It’s not helpful for people in wheelchairs to think they’re “just different”. It’s not helpful for us to think like that either. I’m very able to walk up the stairs and they have to find a ramp, yes, they have it rougher than me. But guess what: when they finally get to their deskjob, they sit there and focus on their work. I run to work and struggle to focus on the job.

It is helpful to me to work on this. The fact that it’s helpful for normal people is just collateral.

Leave a Reply

