Grimaud, Mousqueton and Bazin. And then Planchet came along

I wonder… do you know who I’m talking about? It really would make me so happy if you do.

I once searched for a certain classic novel in my native language and had a hard time doing so. Only children’s versions were available, but I eventually lucked out and found a volume and I gulped it down. And then I gulped it down again. And again. It’s such an awesome book, I have to read it at least once every two years. I was once laughed at for sharing how awesome the book is: “I read that as a child!” Well, you read the kiddy version and you’re an ignorant and an idiot.

Athos, Porthos and Aramis. And then D’Artagnan came along. Do you know who I’m talking about now? Well, of course you do. You probably read it as a child too – the kiddy version. Or you saw one of many hollywood versions. If you’re lucky, you’ve seen Athos depiected as an alcoholic – but you have no idea why he is one. If you’re lucky, you’ve seen the version where they try to retrieve not a necklace from London but diamond pendants, but you’ll never know that the diamonds weren’t returned in the knick of time; you’ll never know that the cardinal actually got what the musketeers went for and you’ll never know the most fabulous comeback of the queen during the ball when she’s supposed to prove that she has all the diamonds.

But what really sucks is that, even if you were lucky to see a version with Planchet, you’ll most likely never know who the fuck are Grimaud, Mousqueton and Bazin. They weren’t four in these adventures, they were eight: each had a servant and by the way, when D’artagnan started up as a guard until an opening in the Musketeers came along, he was advised by his friends not only to get a servant, but to give him a good beating first thing, so the servant would know who’s the boss. And the deal with the diamonds was less than a quarter of the story.

The Three Musketeers is not just a period novel nowadays. It was a period novel back when it was written. And it’s a book no one should miss. I hope I peaked your curiosity into reading it, if you never did. Me, I’m just glad that I did and that everyone in France has – I checked with a french guy.

2 thoughts on “Grimaud, Mousqueton and Bazin. And then Planchet came along

  1. I found this blog post while googling the names of all the servants (Bazin is the one I was missing), and yours was the first result which wasn’t in French.

    I am also a big fan of Dumas and the three musketeers, having read all the books in the series (20 years after is my favorite) and I have always lamented that most portrayals in media do not use the source material, which is so rich and interesting on its own, but instead they focus on the “all for one, one for all” swashbuckling, and I can understand why, but it’s still sad.

    Out of the 4 musketeers servants, I liked that they had their own personalities, and at the same time their characters were aggrandized versions of their masters. The silent and loyal Grimaud was my favorite, while Bazin sanctimoniousness was always getting in the way of the mission and I disliked him for that. Planchet was noble and innocent, while Mousqueton was pretty much a cartoonish buffoon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! So glad to find someone who bothered to read them all! :) I did read them all, and 20 years later is a close second to “The three musketeers” to me. I love how well seasoned D’Artagnan is as a 40 year old (as a 19 year old, he pretty much got on my nerves! Hehe) and how all the other characters changed. Sure, the media have thei reasons to make the book all about “all for one and one for all”, but I feel so sad that they leave Milady’s origin out of the picture. It’s an awesome sidestory. And probably the reason no one ever dared making a real sequel (except for that awful movie that is only worth for Depardieu, Irons and Malkovich… I can’t look away when so many good actors come together…) Well, thanks for commenting! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

